Latino History

Latinos In Depth
A Thousand Bridges
Hi again! Today I’d like to tell you a little bit more about the book I’m writing. Think of it as preparation for what I’ll be posting about for the next two years! For the moment, I’m calling it A Thousand Bridges, and it’ll be an argument-driven narrative of Latino history over the past 500 years and more…
Read more
Latinos In Depth
Latino historians need new histories of the Spanish colonial period
I’ve been in Tucson and Santa Fe for the past week. As one does when here, I’ve been thinking a lot about the Spanish colonial period. My grandma lives in Tucson in a house built during the mid-twentieth century, with some wooden beams that, if left untreated, could become a home for termites. Her pest control company is called “El Conquistador,” a name…
Read more
Latinos In Depth
Happy Thanksgiving
Every Thanksgiving, I think of “Harvest of Shame,” Edward R. Murrow’s stunning CBS report from 1960 on the plight of agricultural farm workers—Black, White, and Latino workers, in particular. It aired the day after Thanksgiving, inducing a healthy case of indigestion for Americans who learned hard lessons about where their food came from and who was res…
Read more
Latinos In Depth
The things I've learned about Latinos and Latino history from my Grandpa Jerry.
It’s Thanksgiving week. I’m thinking about friends and family. My dad, stepmom, her brother, his son, are coming to Chicago. It’ll be cold outside, but warm inside. Seems like an appropriate time to tell you a little bit about my dad’s dad, Geraldo Cadava Jr., after whom I’m named. Indeed, I couldn’t proceed much further with this newsletter project wit…
Read more
Latinos In Depth
Thoughts (and questions) about Latino identity
I am endlessly fascinated by conversations about Latino identity. They are not new, of course. People of Latin American descent have been engaged in them for a couple hundred years. I’ve identified as Latino my whole life, and have studied Latino history for the past twenty years, and I myself couldn’t tell you exactly what Latino identity means. There…
Read more